The YWCA Movement

In Australia, the YWCA is established in Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Western Australia, Northern Territory and the ACT, and delivers services to more than a quarter of a million women, men and children through over 100 sites across rural, regional and metropolitan areas.

Internationally, the YWCA is one of the world’s largest women’s organisations with representation in 125 countries and a global outreach of 25 million women and girls.

There are 11 YWCAs throughout Australia committed to improving the lives of women and their families. Local YWCAs are affiliated to YWCA Australia, and the World YWCA unites and coordinates 95 affiliated national associations.

As part of the international movement, YWCA Canberra seeks to play its part in working for a world where reconciliation, justice, peace, health, human dignity, freedom and care for the environment are promoted and sustained through women’s leadership.

Visit other YWCAs in Australia

YWCA of Adelaide

YWCA of Albury-Wodonga

YWCA of Broken Hill

YWCA of Darwin

YWCA of the Hunter Region


YWCA of Perth

YWCA of Port Pirie

YWCA of Queensland

YWCA of Victoria

National Merger Project

The National Merger Project (NMP) is exploring the possibility of developing a new, merged, national structure for YWCAs in Australia. As of 11 April 2017, YWCA Canberra is no longer participating in the NMP. Please email with any questions or enquiries.